ChatGPT now has a memory, according to an update from OpenAI that is set to hit paying users outside of Europe and Korea.
The new memory capabilities are not yet allowed in Europe, likely due to data protection concerns, as the ‘memory’ functions based on tracking user input and some more personalised information inputted into the chatbot.
ChatGPT will now be able to remember details between chats, allowing it to provide more relevant responses.
Users can even tell ChatGPT to remember specific details, such as reminding the chatbot that the user is vegan when providing recipes in the future.
ChatGPT’s memory will be malleable, however, and users can reset or clear specific memories, or turn the feature off completely. Alternatively, they can use temporary chat, which will ensure a conversation without memory.
The new memory feature works similarly to Custom instructions, except the model has been trained to update the memories rather than requiring users to manually manage them. Information that might be useful is taken down as a summary to inform future conversations.
The model can also manage memories, updating pre-existing ones, consolidating them, and forgetting them when instructed by the user.
While memory will be turned on my default, users can turn it off, ask it to delete specific memories, or clear all memories.
OpenAI says it is still “taking steps to assess and mitigate biases and steer ChatGPT away from proactively remembering sensitive information, like your health details” the company said in a press release.
Recommended reading
- Microsoft Launches Small but Effective AI Model Phi-3-Mini
- AI Takeover Ushers ‘Feeling Economy’ Era For Tech Workers
- OpenAI & Meta to Release AI Models that Can ‘Plan’ and ‘Reason’
It remains unclear then if ChatGPT will remember these sensitive data points – further, if it will remember the names and sensitive information of underaged people mentioned in conversations.
OpenAI has said that it may use content provided on ChatGPT, including memories to train the model, but this can be turned off through Data Controls.





