Site navigation

2019 Scotland Women in Technology Awards Finalists Announced

Ross Kelly


Scotland Women in Technology Awards

This year’s finalists include a range of inspiring female leaders spanning industry and academia. 

Finalists for this year’s Scotland Women in Technology (SWiT) Awards have been announced, with the awards ceremony due to take place on 24th October.

The annual awards aim to recognise and celebrate women working within the technology industry, champion strong female leaders within the sector and inspire younger generations to pursue careers in STEM subjects.

Speaking to DIGIT last year, Lynsey Campbell, chair of SWiT, said: “We hope these awards inspire more women to pursue a career in technology and I hope we can inspire the next generation to be the innovators and creative minds we need to make Scotland a global leader in technology.”

Last year’s event, hosted at Glasgow’s Radisson Blu hotel, saw Toni Scullion of St Kentigern’s Academy win the Secondary Teacher award while ScotlandIS chief executive, Polly Purvis, picked up the Lifetime Achievement award in recognition of her extensive work in the sector.

This Year’s Finalists

In the Primary Teacher of the Year category, which recognises individuals who go the extra mile to inspire and engage young girls in tech subjects, Frances Quinn and Sarah Burton have been nominated as finalists.

Toni Scullion has, once again, been nominated for her outstanding work as Secondary Teacher of the Year alongside Sarah Clarke and Shona McAlpine.

This year’s Rising Star section will be a hotly-contested award with seven nominations. The award recognises a student, graduate, apprentice, or someone at the beginning of their tech sector journey that is having a positive impact on the wider tech community.

Anna McMullen, Sophie Lanc, Meenal Upadhyay, Maria Khokhar, Julie McElroy, Sjoukje Ijstra and Christine Lester are all finalists in this category.

Additional nominations for the 2019 Scotland Women in Technology Awards include:

  • Technology Champion in Education: Kate Farrel Dr Anne Porter, Kelly Gardner & Tanya Howden.
  • Inspirational Woman of the Year: Jude McCorry, Megan Hughes, Vicky Brock, Freha Arshad, Cat Leaver & Sophie Lanc.
  • Gender Diversity Champion of the Year: Toni Scullion, Lesley MacRury, Samantha Rhynas, Carole Rennie-Logan, Rachel Adamson.
  • Leader of the Year: Vicky Brock, Angela Prentner-Smith, Eve Wallace, Rebecca Moore, Eva Luckhiram.
  • Gender Aware Recruitment Agency of the Year: Enigma People Solutions, Nine Twenty, McGregor Boyall.
  • Employer of the Year: The Data Lab, Morgan Stanley, Sky, Accenture.
  • Diversity Initiative of the Year: STEMAspire, BCSWomen Scotland, dressCode, Get Into Tech, Women in Technology (Morgan Stanley)

DIGIT director, Ray Bugg, a judge for the 2019 awards, commented: “It’s fantastic to once again see some of the top women from Scotland’s technology sector recognised for their outstanding contribution to the industry.

“Scotland’s technology sector is in the midst of a very exciting period, and having strong female leadership, as well as inspiring role models for younger generations, will be crucial as the country continues to cultivate a reputation as an inclusive, forward-thinking technology hub.”

Ross Kelly

Staff Writer

Latest News

%d bloggers like this: