Site navigation

Scottish Cyber Award Nominees Announced

Brian Baglow


Scottish Cyber Awards Nominees

The nominees for the 2017 Scottish Cyber Awards have been announced by the judges, highlighting the diverse and rapidly evolving cyber security sector in Scotland.

The judges of the 2017 Scottish Cyber Awards have delivered the list of nominees for this year’s competition.

The competition received over 70 entries from companies, organisations and individuals, an increase from the 2016 awards and highlighting the growth of the cyber sector in the country.

Mandy Haeburn-Little, chief executive of the Scottish Business Resilience Centre told DIGIT: “As technology advances at such a rapid pace, so does the scale, pace and complexity of cyber crime.

“All organisations, no matter large or small, are at risk from cyber criminals and jointly we need to do everything we can to keep Scotland safe.

“There is truly amazing, ground-breaking work happing in Scotland and it ranges from small and brilliant innovation, to work in schools, to new security products and course, the Scottish Government’s Cyber Resilience Strategy. All of these work together to help keep everyone safe. We should be really proud of this growing industry in Scotland. It is important to celebrate their ambition and their vision. It is going to be a great evening.”

PwC Scotland’s Colin Slater, said: “This is the second year sponsoring the Cyber Awards and we’re absolutely delighted to be involved – it’s an influential award.

“It’s an interesting time for the industry given the ever-increasing profile cyber security is receiving in Scotland, so good luck to those shortlisted and it I look forward to congratulating the winners on the night.”

A spokesman for the judges told DIGIT: “The panel are extremely impressed with the quality and level of applications this year. The Best New Cyber Talent category alone shows the depth of talent in companies across the UK.”

The full list of 2017 nominees:

Best Cyber Start-Up

Cyber Aggress

ID Cyber Solutions

Quorum Cyber

Best new Cyber Talent

Alexander Young (ECS Security Ltd.)

Carson Leonard (ZoneFox)

Gary Ennis (NSDesign Ltd.)

Collaboration With Police Scotland

Droman Solutions Ltd

Trend Micro

Cyber Evangelist Of The Year

Professor Bill Buchanan OBE (Edinburgh Napier University)

Stuart Hirst (Capital One)

James Kwaan (iSACA Scotland)

Cyber Resilient Community Impact Award

Law Society of Scotland


Abertay Ethical Hacking Society

Cyber Security Teacher of the Year

Colin Drummond (West Lothian Council)

Toni Scullion (St Kentigern’s Academy)

Gareth Rae (Girvan Academy)

Outstanding Women In Cyber

Alison Brogan (ECS Security Ltd.)

Laura Sullivan (ZoneFox)

Naghmeh Moradpoor (Edinburgh Napier University)

International Contribution to Cyber Security


iSACA Scotland

ID Cyber Solutions

Leading Light Innovation


Wallet Services


Best Cyber Breakthrough

Edinburgh Napier University (Symphonic) Ltd

Wallet Services

Best Cyber Education Programme



Edinburgh Napier University

Leading Diversity in Cyber

ECS Security Ltd.

Seric Systems

Outstanding Cyber Team

Clydesdale Bank

St Kentigern’s Academy (Turing Testers)

ECS Security Ltd.

The winners of each category will be announced at the Scottish Cyber Awards ceremony, which takes place on November 22nd at the Sheraton Hotel in Edinburgh. Tickets are available on the award website.

Movers and shakers

Brian Baglow


Latest News

%d bloggers like this: