Site navigation

2021 Scottish Cyber Awards to Recognise Industry Excellence

Ross Kelly


Scottish Cyber Awards

Winners from the 2020 awards included Full Proxy, Young Scot and Strathclyde University.

The 2021 Scottish Cyber Awards, led by the Scottish Business Resilience Centre (SBRC), is now accepting applicants and nominations.

Now in their fifth year, the awards celebrate the individuals and organisations innovating and making a positive impact in Scotland’s cybersecurity sector.

Individuals can vote for themselves/their organisation or nominate someone who they feel is deserving from now until Wednesday 25th November.

Comprised of 11 categories, the 2021 awards are set to take place on Thursday 25th February 2021 at the Sheraton Grand Hotel and Spa in Edinburgh.

The 2021 awards will feature new categories, SBRC announced. These include Cyber Educator of the Year, sponsored by the SQA and Diversity Champion sponsored by Sapphire.

Other categories recognise the Best Cyber Start-Up, Outstanding Woman in Cyber and Best Cyber Breakthrough.

Traditionally, the Best Customer Experience category is chosen by the public and this year is no different. The public vote will open once entries close with the company receiving the most votes crowned as the winner of that category.

On the night, judges will also recognise a Champion of Champions. The 2020 awards saw Morgan Stanley’s Emily Beeney scoop up the accolades in this category.


SBRC Chief Executive, Jude McCorry, said: “The cyber resilience shown by individuals and businesses over the last 12 months has been inspiring. Unfortunately, cyberattacks show no sign of slowing, but we know that Scotland is home to a united cyber defence community.

“The Scottish Cyber Awards 2021 will recognise the dedication and commitment of those within the industry to combat threats that might not only impact their own organisation, but the wider population. Now, more than ever, we need to honour the achievements of those in this community and I can’t wait to celebrate with you all.”

This year’s awards will see the SBRC bring together a new judging committee from across the emergency services, industry and public sector.

Judges for the 2021 Scottish Cyber Awards include:

  • ACC McLaren, Executive lead for Organised Crime, Counter Terrorism and Intelligence, Police Scotland
  • Theresa Swayne, Senior Development Manager at Highlands and Islands Enterprise
  • Jude McCorry, CEO, Scottish Business Resilience Centre
  • Paul Atkinson, Partner – Par-Equity, Entrepreneur, and serial angel investor
  • Clare El Azebbi, Head of the Cyber Resilience Unit in the Scottish Government
  • Ellen Wong, Principal Officer, U.S. Consulate General Edinburgh

ACC McLaren added: “The Scottish Cyber Awards judging panel represents a cross section of those with a close relationship to all things cyber – whether that is in defining policy, combating crime or shaping business resilience plans.

“The efforts of the few within the cybersecurity sector are there to benefit the many, and so it is fitting that we recognise the hard work being done in this area across the length and breadth of Scotland.”

Confirmed sponsors for 2021 awards include Adarma, Checkpoint (Bronze Sponsor), Sapphire, ScotlandIS, Scottish Qualifications Authority and Varonis (Bronze Sponsor), with more to be confirmed in the coming weeks.

More information on the awards and how to enter yourself or nominate another can can be found here:

The Scottish Cyber Awards 2021 will feature as part of Cyber Scotland Week.

Ross Kelly

Staff Writer

Latest News

Cybersecurity Data Protection
Cybersecurity Editor's Picks Trending Articles
%d bloggers like this: